EYFS explained

Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) explained

High quality early learning contributes to providing children with the foundation they need to make the most of their abilities and talents. Children develop quickly in their early years. A child’s experiences between birth and age five have a big impact on their future.

EYFS is a stage of early years education that seeks to enable children to their full potential by integrating areas of learning and development that incorporate relevant, age appropriate achievable goals. The curriculum sets standards and directions for the learning, development and care of children from birth up to the age of five. Many Early Years educational institutions deliver the world-renowned Early Years Foundation Stage system. EYFS is involved in getting children ready for school by providing them with knowledge and skills for future progress through school and life.

EYFS is constantly reviewed by the British Department of Education in order to remain at the forefront of early years education. The EYFS integrates seven areas of learning and development which are classified as three prime areas and four specific areas.

The Prime Areas are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSE)
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

The Specific Areas are:

  • Expressive Art and Design
  • Literacy
  • Understanding of the World
  • Mathematics

At Learning Land Nursery in Dubai, our Learning Triangle Curriculum is primarily based on the EYFS and is enriched by the Reggio Emilia approach and our Exposure to Languages programme.

By Komal Qaiser